Captive Pages are a service used by plan.com to communicate essential information directly to the user's device. Captive Pages are available when a service reaches a Spend Limit and its allowances are restricted in order to prevent further additional charges.
Activating a Captive Page
To activate a Captive Page, users are required to set up a Spend Control via the my.plan portal. This set up includes setting a Spend Limit, as well as who should be notified if the Spend Limit is reached.
However, there are two types of Captive page: authorised and unauthorised. In addition to providing insight into which allowances have been restricted and why, an authorised Captive Page enables the service to reconnect their allowance(s) by adding a Bolt-on or increasing the Spend Limit. Unauthorised services cannot add a Bolt-on or increase their Spend Limit, and will remain without connectivity.
To authorise/unauthorise Captive Pages:
- Login to your my.plan account.
- In the top navigation menu, hover over the Controls tab and select Captive Page Authorisation.
- Use the Blocked switch to configure whether or not Captive Pages are authorised for your account.
Adding a Bolt-On via Captive Page
A Bolt-On, which could provide additional data, texts, or minutes, can indeed be added via an authorised Captive Page. If your mobile service is suspended due to reaching a Spend Limit, the Captive Page will appear and propose suitable Bolt-On options tailored to your usage.
This seamless process guides users through purchasing bolt-on bundles, without having to log into their account, ensuring the continual use of their services.
Increasing Spend Limits
One of the easiest ways to remove the restrictions on a service put in place by a Spend Control is to increase the Spend Limit. Captive Pages give you this ability – allowing you to increase the Spend Limit by a set amount.
Spend Controls can be set at £0, £10, £15, £20, £35, £50, £75, £100, £200, £300 and £500 for each service.
If the new Spend Limit is reached, the service will be notified and restricted in the same way as with the original Spend Limit. This is true for all subsequent increases of the Limit.
Who gets notified when a Captive Page is sent? The intended recipient can be anyone, but it is typically directed to those who are affected by the situation at hand – whether they've reached their data limit, or are in situations where special Bolt-On deals could be beneficial.
In essence, Captive Pages are a fundamental element in managing your mobile services with plan.com, providing indispensable communication around data usage and add-on purchases. These tools just serve as constant reminders to ensure all users stay well-informed and avoid potential problems related to their usage.